Powered by

Bioeconomy

"The bioeconomy is the knowledge-based production and use of biological resources to provide products, processes and services in all economic sectors within the frame of a sustainable economic system." Definition of the Bioeconomy Council

What is a bioeconomy?

The bioeconomy, or biobased economy, is a new model for industry and the economy. It involves using renewable biological resources sustainably to produce food, energy and industrial goods. It also exploits the untapped potential stored within millions of tons of biological waste and residual materials.

Renewable raw materials and biogenic waste materials represent the basis of a bioeconomy. © Fotolia

The transition from a fossil fuel-based to a biobased economy is expected to reduce our dependency on fossil fuels and achieve more sustainability as well as contribute to climate and environmental protection. The Baden-Württemberg government is working towards establishing a regional bioeconomy.

The bioeconomy involves breaking up plants into their component parts as completely as possible and converting them into valuable materials. It is expected that this challenge will be met in the future by large biorefineries with many coordinated process steps.

In recent years, the bioeconomy has also become a key focus of political and technological interest both nationally and internationally. In 2010, the German government adopted the "National Research Strategy BioEconomy 2030" and in a press statement released on 13th February 2012, the European Commission states: "Europe needs to make the transition to a post-petroleum economy. Greater use of renewable resources is no longer just an option, it is a necessity." In its current EU research programme, Horizon 2020, the European Commission places the bioeconomy at the heart of its investment programme.

An interesting Dossier on the topic

On the one hand, a bioeconomy relies on renewable resources to meet society’s need for food, energy and industrial products. On the other, it emphasises the role of biogenic material flows. The bioeconomy model is expected to reduce our dependency on fossil fuels in the long term. In order to implement the shift from a fossil-based economy to a biobased economy on the regional level, the Baden-Württemberg government launched the Bioeconomy Research Strategy in summer 2013.

Website address: https://www.biooekonomie-bw.de/en/bw/definition/

Powered by

Bioökonomie

"Die Bioökonomie ist die wissensbasierte Erzeugung und Nutzung biologischer Ressourcen, um Produkte, Verfahren und Dienstleistungen in allen wirtschaftlichen Sektoren im Rahmen eines zukunftsfähigen Wirtschaftssystems bereitzustellen." Definition des Bioökonomierats

Was ist Bioökonomie?

Bioökonomie ist ein neues Modell für Industrie und Wirtschaft. Bioökonomie setzt auf nachwachsende Rohstoffe als Basis für Nahrungsmittel, Energie und Industrieprodukte und sie nutzt die Potenziale, die in Millionen von Tonnen an Bioabfällen und Reststoffen stecken.

Die Basis einer Bioökonomie sind nachwachsende Rohstoffe und Reststoffe. © Fotolia

Mit diesem Modell soll langfristig die Abhängigkeit von fossilen Rohstoffen reduziert und mehr Nachhaltigkeit, Natur- und Klimaschutz erreicht werden. Baden-Württemberg engagiert sich, um die Bioökonomie regional zu etablieren. Eine Herausforderung der Bioökonomie ist, Pflanzenreste möglichst vollständig aufzuschließen, die Komponenten aufzutrennen und daraus Wertstoffe zu gewinnen. Große Bioraffinerien mit vielen aufeinander abgestimmten Prozessschritten sollen dieses Problem künftig lösen.

Bioökonomie rückte in den vergangenen Jahren auch national und international immer mehr in den Mittelpunkt des politischen und technologischen Interesses. Die Bundesregierung hat 2010 die „Nationale Forschungsstrategie BioÖkonomie 2030“ verabschiedet. Die Europäische Kommission stellte in einer Pressemitteilung vom 13. Februar 2012 fest: „Europa muss den Schritt zu einer von fossilen Energieträgern unabhängigen Wirtschaft wagen. Eine verstärkte Nutzung erneuerbarer Ressourcen ist nicht länger nur eine Option, sondern eine Notwendigkeit.“ Im aktuellen Forschungsprogramm „Horizon 2020“ der EU hat die Kommission der Bioökonomie entsprechend viel Raum verschafft.

Ein interessantes Dossier zum Thema

Bioökonomie setzt einerseits auf nachwachsende Rohstoffe als Basis für Nahrungsmittel, Energie und Industrieprodukte. Andererseits betont sie die Rolle von Stoffkreisläufen biogener Wertstoffe. Mit diesem Modell soll langfristig die Abhängigkeit von fossilen Rohstoffen reduziert werden. Um die Bioökonomie regional zu entwickeln, hat Baden-Württemberg im Sommer 2013 eine Forschungsstrategie Bioökonomie verabschiedet.


In diesen BIOPRO Magazinen finden Sie Spannendes zum Thema Bioökonomie

Seiten-Adresse: https://www.biooekonomie-bw.de/de/bw/definition/